Silence

We live in a world full of sound and with every waking moment we are bombarded with noise. Even softly playing music in the background we are hearing much more than we did when we were younger. It has become increasing difficult to find a quiet moment even at home. At work we find and listen to all sorts of sound even the ones we do not pay attention to. I travel  to work in a car and turn on the radio. I listen to the sound of the engine subconsciously as I want to know deep in the back of my mind if the car is running ok.

As I park the car there is the sound of the tyres on the pavement. The sound of the door opening. As I swipe my security card a swoosh then the door opens. The rustle on the carpet. The light switch and the press of the button as I turn on the computer. As windows boots up it plays the Microsoft jingle. Well not quite but it’s almost the sound of money in a Microsoft register. Sound is everywhere. At home there is the sound of the dryer and washing machine. I turn on the radio as I feel that it is too quiet. Imagine that too quite as I am the only one at home. But when do I have a moment to myself just sitting, thinking letting the mind go free and wander. When I was younger, that seems like an ages ago. I would be able to sit with a group of friends and literally the mind wander. There was no time or space. Then they would say , Ronald, Ronald and I would awake from my slumber of mind wandering. I would love to find that space and time again. But it seems so hard. Why ! oh Why so hard..because sound is everywhere. My mind cannot seem to find rest. My mind wanders what the next thought is going to be, it monitors all the sound around me..and feedback to my senses that I have to do this and do that. Write this and write that..What have I become..

Find your quiet moment, find your soul and let it wander about the wonders of the world and its creation.

Leave a Reply

